Project Proposal

Publié le par Vincent Hughes

My first class in advertising during my BA course, awakaned me to the power of visual communication . Being profoundly passionate of human nature I started taking an interest in the development of Human in big cities and the way they are  addressed too.

 

From there, I questioned Human’s freedom of mind inside the city after being constantly harassed by visuals, thus reducing Humankind to what they are  first,  animals with insctincts, fears and needs. Which induced a serie of pictures....

 

My project will /endeavour  to question the blinded capitalist motion in which man is drowned, as well as understanding t the visual techniques that are used.

I’ll concentrate particularly  on such  issues as globalism, ethnic violence, gender studies, transnationalism and local experience, and the emerging cultures of cyberspace

 

Some questions are questions raised will concern the sense of belonging, the relation to nature and the environment. However, the «Man and the city » Project is also a personal means of keeping track with Planet Earth’s tribes which our consumers’  society tries to make us feel remote from and that we are slowly destroying. Are our means of identifying ourselves as members of a community really  different from the traditional expressions of «belonging”? Are the so-called « primitive »attitudes thinkable in Western societies?

Indeed, tribal expressions still seem to exist nowadays in society, from the way we dress to the way we travel, to the way we approach one another . Tribalism can also be met with street art and grafitti, which are products of the city too. And this is a fact, that I believe is stronger than society itself.

 

I will base my work on readings about social anthropology stud, sociology  and basics of business economy at ccws Library for a better understanding of the surrounding world, and focus on the study of Human alone : through their attitudes, reactions, exchanges and ways of communicating.

 

My works will go from 2D images to 3D installations

The research, elaboration of concepts and mounting will take place in the studio.

I will then bring my project out to the streets, class exhibitons, onto the internet and ccws open spaces to benefit  from the advice of people around me.

My researches will make sense when interacting with an audience, and so, I will try and hit a target as large as possible.

I will keep track of the audience’s reaction to the  projects with a camera , post them on my blog vincent-hughes.over-blog.com, and re- use them as work material.

Inspirations and activy will come from different current Artistic activists (street art) to ecological and humanitarian  organisations (Greenpeace, Amnesty) to advertising, and any cyber induced actions.

My readings will mostly take place at Camberwell’s  and LCC ‘s Libraries.

To sum up, my subjects of concern will be :Anthropology (Study of man) ,Sociology , Economics

 

References :

Levis Strauss, Roland Barthes, Murray Leaf, Alan Macfarlane, Peter Abell, Barbara Adam, Ronald Burt, Robert Dahl: European Association of Social Anthropologists (EASA)

 

Vincent Hughes

 

Pour être informé des derniers articles, inscrivez vous :
Commenter cet article